About Our School


Our School

Scoil Naomh Feichin is a 23 teacher co-educational Catholic primary school
under the patronage of the Archbishop of Armagh. The school is located a short drive from the town of Drogheda in the scenic village of Termonfeckin.

Scoil Naomh Feichín follows the standard curriculum as set down by the Department of Education & Skills. Subjects taught are Mathematics, English, Irish, SESE (Science, History & Geography), SPHE (Social, Personal & Health Education), Arts (Visual Arts, Music & Drama) and Physical Education. As Scoil Naomh Feichín is a school under Catholic patronage all classes follow the Grow in Love and Alive-O Religious Education Programmes.

Catholic Ethos

Scoil Naomh Feichín aims to promote the full and harmonious development of all aspects of the person, intellectual, physical, cultural, moral and spiritual including a living relationship with God and with other people.  

Our school models and promotes a philosophy of life inspired by belief in God and in the life, death and resurrection of Jesus Christ. As a Catholic school we provide Religious Education for our pupils in accordance with the doctrines, practices and traditions of the Roman Catholic Church and we promote the formation of the pupils in the Catholic Faith.

If you would like more information about the pastoral life in the parish of Termonfeckin, please click here.

History of Scoil Naomh Feichín

Our school is named after St Fechín who is believed to have been from Collooney in County Sligo. When St Fechín left the west of Ireland he established a monastery at Fore, County Westmeath. He died of the yellow plague in the year 664. We celebrate the feast day of St. Fechín on the 20th of January each year.

For many years Termonfeckin had two separate primary schools, one for girls and one for boys. In 1936 both schools were amalgamated into a combined school which was situated at Yellow Gap. Due to antiquated facilities and lack of space, the old school at Yellow Gap was vacated in 1980 with the completion of the current school building on the Baltray Road. The foundation stone of the new school was blessed by Cardinal Tomás O Fiaich in 1980.

If you would like to read more about the history of education in the parish of Termonfeckin, click here for the website of the Termonfeckin Historical Society.

School Staff

Principal: Mr. Bryan Collins

Deputy Principal: Mrs Margaret Hurley

Mrs Claire McCluskey

Mrs Anne-Marie Cassidy

Mrs Fiona Fahy

Ms Nicola Carolan

Mrs Lauraine Collins

Mrs Ger McManus

Mrs Sinéad Sweeney

Ms Sheena Duffy

Mrs Emma Smith

Mrs Gemma Ryan

Ms Fiona Cartmill

Mrs Fiona McGuinness

Ms Hannah Clayton

Ms Orla Brannigan

Ms Grace Clinton

There are 7 teachers on our supply panel for 2022/23

Hayley McDonnell

Ailbhe Quinn

Jill Donegan

Dean Branigan

Clodagh Lynch

Leah Judge

Eva Cotter


Special Needs Assistants

Mrs Ann Marie Clarke
Mrs Niamh Gorman
Mrs Jeanne Lynch

Mrs Jenny Farrell

Ms Susan Farrell

Secretary: Mrs Diane Kirk
Caretaker: Mr Gavan Fahy
Cleaners:  Mrs Patricia Byrne & Mrs Mary Kinsella

Board of Management

Chairperson: Fr Paul Byrne
Secretary: Mr Bryan Collins
Treasurer: Mrs Denise Redmond
Mrs Fiona Fahy
Mrs Deirdre Murphy
Mr Neil Martin
Mrs Catherine Campbell 
Mrs Lorraine Leech

Parents Association

Chairperson: Mrs Amanda Duggan


Click on a thumbnail to enlarge...

  • front-of-school_orig.jpg
  • o_1e72pb7u3oji1e8drhk1hos1qt5c.jpg
  • School Principal Bryan Collins
  • Deputy Principal Margaret Hurley
  • Pupils from Termonfeckin National School with school principal, Mr Donal McGinley (circa. 1945)

Upcoming Events

Showing upcoming events for the next 7 months

Full Calendar